Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

5/5 Stars

“It’s always been fascinating to me how things can be simultaneously true and false, how people can be good and bad all in one, how someone can love you in a way that is beautifully selfless while serving themselves ruthlessly.”
.
This book took me by surprise. I went in blind without reading the synopsis. After hearing about how good Evelyn Hugo is for the past couple of years, and then seeing one of my friends give it a 5-star review, I decided to stop holding off and read this one right away.
.
And I am so glad that I did!
.
This book is VERY, VERY good.
.
Welcome to the extravagant and famous life of one of Hollywood’s biggest stars, Evelyn Hugo. Evelyn is famous for her voluptuous figure and fabulous movies, and even moreso, her personal life – Evelyn was married a whopping seven times during her life. After being out of the limelight for years, Evelyn contacts Monique Grant, a writer at a magazine, asking Monique to write her life story. But why is Evelyn suddenly doing a tell-all now? And why to a “nobody” like Monique when Evelyn is arguably one of the most famous women in the world?
.
I don’t want to say too much more about the plot because there is a lot that should not be given away. I had several tearful moments while reading this story and I suspect it will stay with me. This was my first TJR and I enjoy her writing, the ease of reading it, and the thought-provoking premises she presented within the pages. If you haven’t read Evelyn, do it now!

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑